Fat to Fit at 59

My quest to lose 50 pounds in 150 days. (Now that you know about it, I'm committed.)

Day One—Anti-Paunch Launch November 16, 2009

How does it make you feel when you try to hide your weight with clothes like I'm doing here?

So here we are: Day One of my quest to lose 50 pounds in 150 days. My goal is to drop from 199 to 149 by April 15, 2010. Ambitious? Probably. But without ambition, where would we all be?

I’ve wrestled with putting myself out there like that. What woman wants the world to know her secrets (weight, age…)?? But as the saying goes, the truth will set you free. Shame is a powerful detriment to progress, and I’ve lived with enough shame to last a lifetime. So off with the cloak of shame! On with the mink coat (sorry, fur haters) of being better to myself.

In my high school days, I weighed 135. Being 5 feet 9 inches tall, that was pretty darn slim. I don’t feel the need to be stick-skinny, but I DO feel the need to be able to sit comfortably (read: without my stomach overflowing my jeans like a too-full bowl of oatmeal overcooking in the microwave). And, I feel the need to feel better about ME.

Although my plan was to start a walking/running and strength training regimen (and I will do that on days they’re needed), I was blessed today with the opportunity to feed horses and muck stalls (18 of them—if you’re not a horse person, you might not believe how much a draft horse can poop in 24 hours!) for a friend. Three sweaty hours later I emerged from the barn with enough hay stuck in my hair and clothes to audition as the Wizard of Oz scarecrow. But I felt absolutely energized and ready to face the day.

Do you have a fitness and/or weight loss goal? Would you like to join me on my journey? Feel free to subscribe to this blog on the right. And feel free to comment and offer feedback and suggestions. Together we can uplift and edify one another. Together we can encourage each other. And together we can reach our goals, whatever they are. So grab onto the conga line!

 

5 Responses to “Day One—Anti-Paunch Launch”

  1. Robin Says:

    Cute, Diane, very cute!

    Mucking stalls, yes, nobody but a true horse-lover would understand why such a task can bring such satisfaction and sense of accomplishment. And why you’d go back tomorrow to play in the poop again! And that sweet smell of fresh straw – mmm – breathe it in!

  2. Karen Smith Says:

    Way to go Diane! I’ve been trying to talk myself out from going to the gym all night and you’ve motivated me. Thanks, I think 😉

  3. Melanie Says:

    YEAH Mom!!! I am in, 50 in 150!! I, however am not ready to admit the weight I am at now, but maybe by then I will be…silly maybe? Anyway, thanks for the inspiration! Oh and keep up the work, you are going to have HOT ARMS!!

    I didn’t think BTW that you were trying to hide weight under your clothes, just garments! LOL

    Love ya,
    mel (your biggest competitor)


Leave a Reply

