Fat to Fit at 59

My quest to lose 50 pounds in 150 days. (Now that you know about it, I'm committed.)

Day 4—What’s in YOUR exercise bag? November 19, 2009

Planning for bad weather or other roadblocks will keep your fitness program in gear.

As fall turns to winter, the hardest (fitness/health) thing for me is exercise. (Next week, that hardest thing may change to the approaching onslaught of holiday food!)

When the roads and sidewalks are slick and potentially dangerous, it’s easy to say, “Maybe tomorrow.” That statement has been the death of my fitness regimen more than once. But there are other options.

My daughter Melanie is training for a triathlon, so has taken up swimming. She can go to the pool regardless of the weather, and put in a full-body workout that I’m sure trumps my measly walk/run and strength training sessions. (I’m SO proud of her, and her sisters, who’ve recently taken up distance running! I think they’re my inspiration.)

We all need to choose the fitness activities that suit us best (note the plural). I love being outside walking/running, doing yard work, shoveling snow… It makes me feel like I’m accomplishing something, even if that something is simply enjoying the beauty of God’s creations.

Maybe you like tennis, or racquetball, biking, hiking, mall walking, treadmilling or … (fill in the blank). Whatever it is you like to do, be sure to have a backup plan if there’s a chance you’ll be way-laid by the weather or some other limitation.

That “just in case” Plan B can save you from the guilt of an exercise (lack of) plan gone awry. Rather than guilt over unmet goals, we need to feel the satisfaction of success. And we make our own success by soaring over the stumbling blocks that life presents us with.

So make a plan. And don’t be afraid to share. What are your particular exercise challenges? What are your ideas about overcoming them—or how have you already overcome them? We’re all in this together. So I’ll do my best to help you, and I’d love it if you’d return the favor.

Will today be your Day One? Congratulations if it is, or if yesterday was. ’Til tomorrow, keep confident and resolute!

 

2 Responses to “Day 4—What’s in YOUR exercise bag?”

  1. Lauren Says:

    My continuous challenge is finding time, especially when I have to work late (and then check and reply to e-mails) or am traveling. I’m definitely not a morning person, so waking up at 6:00am to workout is just a huge turnoff for me, but I think that’s what I’m going to have to do if I want to make it part of my daily routine, and stop using that as an excuse to not exercise. Maybe after a few weeks or months, it’ll get easier for me…I hope!

    Tomorrow is my day one of a morning exercise plan!


Leave a Reply

