Fat to Fit at 59

My quest to lose 50 pounds in 150 days. (Now that you know about it, I'm committed.)

Day 5—Water And Wait November 20, 2009

Is this your normal sandwich?

Try halving it, and adding a salad (watch that dressing: see Day 2!)

No, I didn’t spell Wait wrong in the title. I really do mean a lapse of time. Let me explain.

Healthy eating isn’t about deprivation—it’s about moderation. Take the photos above. The whole sandwich on the left: two slices of whole wheat bread, 2 teaspoons of butter, two slices of deli ham and a slice of muenster cheese. Calorie count: 598.

According to Sparkpeople.com, to attain my weight goal by April 15, I need to eat 1,200–1,550 calories per day. [Cruelly, most men can eat twice that and never gain an ounce! No, life isn’t always fair. But then, when a man wants to feed his baby, he has to get up and warm a bottle!    😉  ]

Today I tried something new. I only ate half the sandwich, reducing my lunch calories to 299. And honestly, the half-sandwich was enough. Shut up, you say?? Here’s what I did: I drank a glass of water and waited 10 minutes. I told myself that if I was still hungry, I could eat the other half-sandwich. But I found that the water helped fill me up, and the extra 10 minutes gave my brain (the hypothalamus, to be specific) enough time to realize I was satisfied.

My day’s calories came to 1,474, within my goal range. YAY! And that included a bowl of rainbow sherbet after dinner. So we really can eat everything we want. We just need to eat less of it.

Enough of this calorie counting stuff. Tomorrow we’ll talk about how to find time to exercise. Come ready to share your secrets, or be inspired by someone else’s!

And just FYI, weigh-in number one will take place Monday for me. (You determine your own schedule.)

Will today be your Day One? Congratulations if it is, or if yesterday was (or the day before). Keep confident and resolute! We can do this!

 

3 Responses to “Day 5—Water And Wait”

  1. Lauren Says:

    You can cut the calories in your sandwiches down even more by using hummus instead of butter. 2 Tbsp. = 50 calories. I really like Athenos roasted red pepper hummus, but there are several different flavors. And they are all yummy!

    Another way to cut the calories is to make it in a whole wheat pita. I slice it open so it’s like two pieces of bread rather than a pocket. It’s easier to get all your ingredients in. 1/2 pita = 80 cal & 3 g fiber 😛

    • derice1022 Says:

      Thanks for the comment! I’ve never tried hummus, so will have to get some. Where’s it located in the grocery store?
      Like Julia Child, I do dearly love my butter but hey, I’m open to new things! And I like the pita idea, too!

  2. Cheryl Says:

    Diane,

    I’m enjoying your journey and think I’ll join you! I need to drop a few pounds and what better way than to team up. Thanks for such a great idea.


Leave a Reply

