Fat to Fit at 59

My quest to lose 50 pounds in 150 days. (Now that you know about it, I'm committed.)

Day 13—The Old Homework Excuse, revisited November 28, 2009

What's left of our four Thanksgiving pies

I’ve heard lots of methods for controlling food intake. But I decided that Thanksgiving just wasn’t the day to even go there, so my daughter Lyanne (pron: LeeAnn) and I made four pies: apple, pecan, pumpkin and a new maple-pumpkin recipe Lyanne found on the Internet.

Mind you, only five adults, a 3-year-old and a 13-month-old attended our festivities. So you know there was pie abundance. Yesterday we had pie for lunch. And our afternoon snack.

Come dinner time, we decided “real food” was called for, so we left the remains of three pies on the kitchen island (more than half the pecan and about half the apple, plus the pumpkin in the photo above—we’d sent the other pumpkin pie home with Lyanne) and went to the local wings/burgers joint where Lyanne works. Then we walked the mall with the kids to prep them for a good night’s sleep.

When we got home, we discovered my dog, Finley (aka Lassie the Wonderdog), decided to help us in our calorie-control quest: Two of the pies were GONE. Plates licked clean. And the floor. Verdict: The dog ate it. (Where have we heard that one before??)

You might wonder what I was thinking by leaving the pies so readily available, and yet Finley has NEVER eaten anything off the counters before. So my only conclusion is that Finley, like me, possesses a pie-eating penchant. We are truly of one heart and mind.

But regardless of how close we are, as a precaution, Finley didn’t get to sleep in my room last night.  😉

 

Leave a Reply

