Fat to Fit at 59

My quest to lose 50 pounds in 150 days. (Now that you know about it, I'm committed.)

Day 17—Invigoration December 2, 2009

Service is to the soul what exercise is to the body.

I just got home from my needs-to-be-daily walk/run. Let me just say that I’m not a runner at heart. I run simply to boost my cardiovascular workload. I’m always glad when it’s done, and I never look forward to it. So to those of you who run religiously and love it, I admire and applaud you. But I know that I’ll never BE you.

And that’s OK. We all have something that we enjoy doing. If you hate exercise, I’d venture to say you haven’t discovered what it is that you enjoy. So do LOTS of things. Try out whatever strikes your fancy. Maybe there will be one thing that you’ll fall in love with. Or maybe you really like variety, and need a diverse regimen to keep you interested.

Whatever your preference, adopt the Nike motto and Just Do It. ‘Cause we’re all getting older, and our bodies are use-it-or-lose-it machines. If we don’t take care of them, they won’t be there for us when we need them. I want to live vitally. I want to live my latter years ably and independently. I want to play with my grandkids and feel the satisfaction of maintaining my own home.

There’s nothing wrong with accepting help when we need it, but if we can keep from needing it, then that help can go to benefit someone else. And even better, we can be the ones to provide that service to someone else. Because giving service is the greatest uplift and invigorator there is. It is for our souls what exercise is for our bodies.

 

One Response to “Day 17—Invigoration”

  1. Lauren Says:

    Speaking of finding what you really enjoy doing…my boss (approx. 55-60 yrs. old) recently started taking trapeze lessons and she loves it! She (or any other sane person I know) never thought about – let alone considered – trying it until she met a woman at a party who just so happens to be the instructor. She’s been taking lessons for a few months now and has nothing but great things to say…besides the beginner’s bruises and sore muscles that she didn’t even know she had! Like you said, “Just Do It!”


Leave a Reply

