Fat to Fit at 59

My quest to lose 50 pounds in 150 days. (Now that you know about it, I'm committed.)

Day 45—The Value Of Projects December 30, 2009

I'm giving this dog-eared book a long-overdue makeover.

The thing about projects is that they absorb your attention and keep you from thinking about …oh, I don’t know,  food??

Months ago, I got supplies (a binder and page protectors) to re-do my family-favorites recipe file. Initially, I’d typed them all out years ago for my kids as they left home and kept calling for this recipe or that. But I’d made the mistake of typing them into a recipe template that became obsolete when I replaced the computer it was on.

Anyhow, with all the honey-do tasks I’ve compiled (the honey, in this case, being me!), my recipe re-do sat untouched until yesterday. That’s when my friend and fellow writer/editor Juli sent me a recipe for my try-it-out list. (Do you detect a list-making tendency here??)

So yesterday, I got from Appetizers through Beverages, Breads, Breakfast Foods, Brownies, Cakes, Candies, Canning & Freezing, Casseroles and Cookies. I can guarantee you that even though I’m still in the book’s initial alphabetical categories, these are the most jam-packed categories in my book.  😉

What a mine field of enticement! And yet, I was so engrossed in the task that I didn’t even think about the sweet treats.

Does your to-do list contain a project that can distract you from your treat temptations?

Until tomorrow, stay confident and resolute!

 

Leave a Reply

