Fat to Fit at 59

My quest to lose 50 pounds in 150 days. (Now that you know about it, I'm committed.)

Day 51-To pitch or not to pitch January 4, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — derice1022 @ 10:56 am

Should you keep your "fat clothes" or send them packing?

What does it say to our inner selves to have a corner of our closet reserved for those clothes that we “might want to keep just in case we ever need them again”? I say, it says we plan on regaining lost weight.

I’m a firm believer in imagery. If we see a closet full of “fat clothes,” it gives us permission to someday wear those clothes again.

I say, pitch it! Pitch it all! As you outgrow it, pack it up and send it off to Goodwill (or wherever). That way, if you regain a pound or two, you’ll notice it and be more apt to call up an immediate self-intervention.

So get out those trash bags and fill ’em up! And make way in your mind’s eye for the new–and permanent–you!

“Til tomorrow, stay confident and resolute! And feel free to “weigh in” (ouch,sorry!) with your feelings on this, or any, subject.

 

4 Responses to “Day 51-To pitch or not to pitch”

  1. Sandi Says:

    Love all your posts and uplifting thoughts. I went to the gym today,yesterday and Saturday and Friday.Just trying to get into the habit. Thanks.

  2. Lauren Says:

    When we moved in, I hung all of my clothes with the hook facing me and after I wore them once, I flipped the hanger to the more convenient side – away from me. After one year, I went through and got rid of everything I hadn’t worn in a year. Then I started going through the folded, bagged, and boxed old clothes that I’ve been meaning to get back in to…and I couldn’t stop! After it was all over, I had 9 garbage bags and one enormous box of clothes to donate. Ahhhh.

  3. derice1022 Says:

    Thanks, Sandi — love ya! And Lauren, AWESOME idea! I love it!

  4. Jessica Says:

    I agree 100%, the day something is too big it is out of here! I do however keep some of my favorite things that I hope to wear again some day. I have been getting out the item every few months to see if they finally fit. Unfortunately some of them I do not like the way they look any longer…guess I need to save my pennies and go shopping! I found a great second hand store that carries brand I like, it has been a great way to get some “new” clothes on my weight loss journey.


Leave a Reply

