Fat to Fit at 59

My quest to lose 50 pounds in 150 days. (Now that you know about it, I'm committed.)

Day 65—Dealing With Disappointment January 19, 2010

How do you deal with disappointment?

For months my middle daughter has been waiting to hear where her next job assignment will be. She’s in an administrative training program with a large corporation that puts her into a different job category every 12-18 months, with the final phase being to earn her MBA.

Since June 2008 she’s been traveling to various department stores to monitor displays. Her next position will be managing a brand store. We’ve been hoping she’d get her first choice: Portland area. This morning she found out it’s not to be. No word as yet on where she will be going, but as a mom, I’d been looking forward to the possibility of having at least four of my five girls in the same time zone!

So the question is, how do we stay on track when we encounter the major disappointments in life? Not necessarily the “I broke my nail” stuff, although enough of those in quick succession can build into a major meltdown as well.

First I’ll get on my knees and ask for some comfort. And, I’m not much on crying, but that option’s looking pretty inviting. Other suggestions?

 

4 Responses to “Day 65—Dealing With Disappointment”

  1. Stacy Says:

    Count your blessings…look at the positive rather than the negative of a situation. 1) Your daughter is obviously smart to be earning her MBA, 2) In this poor economy of ours, she actually HAS a job that (hopefully) she loves, 3) If she does live in another city, it gives you an excuse to travel and see more of the world…and I am sure you can come up with many more.

    It’s not an easy way to think sometimes, especially in the midst of disappointment. I try to give myself a set time to throw a big ol’ pity party…then at the appointed time, I hitch up my britches and practice gratitude.

  2. Melanie Says:

    I am bummed too!! I hope that she gets to go somewhere cool, cause I need a fun vacation!! Sucky McSuckster!!

  3. Lauren Says:

    Mel – I don’t know if you’d consider these cool enough for a fun vacation but our new choices are 1) Rochester NY 2) Simsbury CT 3) Salt Lake City. At this rate, we’ll find out where and when the week before we go…


Leave a Reply

