Fat to Fit at 59

My quest to lose 50 pounds in 150 days. (Now that you know about it, I'm committed.)

Day 84—Super Bowl Stress February 7, 2010

Would you call me a wet blanket if I told you not to get too excited about the Super Bowl?

I’ll admit it. I don’t get the excitement about the Super Bowl. I guess what I should really say is, I don’t get football. I never have. But that doesn’t mean I begrudge you or anyone else the privilege of The Mother Of All Football Celebrations.

I don’t even begrudge you the traditional calorie- and fat-laden football-game foods (think chili-cheese nachos smothered in sour cream…artery-clogging bratwurst and hot dogs in gigantic enriched-white-flour buns; gooey, creamy dips dripping off of oily, salty chips; peanuts and pretzels (hey, how did those get into the picture? They’re even kinda healthy!).

What I do begrudge you is the chance of getting so worked up about the game that you do what people in several sports-spectator studies have done: suffered from acute cardiac episodes.

After all, I like you. I want you around so I can enjoy you. So do me a favor: When the game gets so unnerving that you find yourself (for whatever reason, pro or con) jumping up and down screaming, take a breath. Don’t invest your life in the outcome.

To read an article that contains specifics, visit http://www.sparkpeople.com/resource/health_news_detail.asp?health_day=635738 .

 

Leave a Reply

